2016 Chicago International Film Festival Poster

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 10.57.05 AM.png

From here on out I’m attempting to create a poster for every CIFF poster competition that runs during late winter/early spring. Since I just received the notice for the 2017 (due sometime in May) I thought it’d be interesting to post the one I did, and submitted, last year. I didn’t win, but I made it to the final rounds, before ultimately loosing to an Alfred Hitchcock inspired design. 

In truth, I didn’t think I had much of a chance, while I liked my design, I wasn’t sure how the festival would want its (literal) face to be an rather niche, art-house director that had recently passed away. I thought a poster in homage to Rivette’s considerable legacy was a good idea, if probably a really long, long shot to win. Oh well. Here’s what I submitted (the only stipulations was that it contained their logo [bottom left corner], reference to it being the 52nd festival, and that it contained the theme, ‘Because Everyone Loves Movies’). Click to enlarge.

0001-min (1).jpg

 

Leave a Reply

